Rethinking Hinduism in Colonial India

An Online Conference

4th February - 6th February 2022

Day 1

1.45-2.00 pm (GMT) / 8.45-9.00 am (EST)
Welcome

2.30-3.00 pm (GMT) / 9.30-10.00 am (EST)
J Barton Scott (University of Toronto)
What Do We Talk About When We Talk About ‘Modern Hinduism’?

3.30-4.00 (GMT) / 10.30-11.00 am (EST)
Break

4.30-5.00 (GMT) / 11.30-12.00 pm (EST)
Ishita Banerjee-Dube (El Colegio de México)
Bhakti and Bhaktas: The Many Lives of Bhima Bhoi and Mahima Dharma

5.30-6.00 (GMT) / 12.30-1.00 pm (EST)
Arun Brahmbhatt (St. Lawrence University)
Validating Vedanta and Authorizing Commentary in the Swaminarayan Sampradaya

6.30-7.00 (GMT) / 1.30-2.00 pm (EST)
General Discussion 

2.00-2.30 pm (GMT) / 9.00-9.30 am (EST)  
Brian Hatcher (Tufts University)
Religious Polities and Early Modern Hindu Sampradays

3.00-3.30 (GMT) / 10.00-10.30 am (EST)
Angelika Malinar (University of Zurich)
Driving Force or Remnant of the Past? Interpreting ‘Sampradāya’ in Colonial Debates on Hinduism

4.00-4.30 (GMT) / 11.00-11.30 (EST)
Indrani Chatterjee (The University of Texas at Austin)
Disappearing Dedications?: A Second Look at the Evidence from the Brahmaputra Valley

5.00-5.30 (GMT) / 12.00-12.30 pm (EST)
Break 

 

6.00-6.30 (GMT) / 1.00-1.30 pm (EST)
Jonathan Duquette (University of Cambridge)
On the Margins of Modernity: The Advaita of Rāmasubha Śāstri

Day 2

2.00-2.30 pm (GMT) / 9.00-9.30 am (EST)
Carola Lorea (National University of Singapore) 
From Caṇḍāl to Transnational Network: Sectarian Resilience and Untouchable Pride in the Bay of Bengal

3.00-3.30 pm (GMT) / 10.00-10.30 am (EST)
Srilata Raman (University of Toronto) 
Inventing a Sampradāya: Lineage, Authority and Religious Transmission in Tamil, Dalit Śaivism in Colonial Modernity 

3.45-4.15 pm (GMT) / 10.45-11.15 am (EST)
Christopher T. Fleming (University of Oxford)
Śūdra Asceticism in Anglo-Hindu Law: Scripture and Custom

 

4.45-5.30 pm (GMT) / 11.45-12.30 pm (EST)
Break


6.00-6.30 pm (GMT) / 1.00-1.30 pm (EST)
Timothy Dobe (Grinnell College)
The Modern Hindu Islamicate: Gandhi Between Sampraday and Silsilah

2.30-3.00 pm (GMT) / 9.30-10.00 am (EST)
Rick Weiss (Heidelberg University)
Apocalypse and a Marginalized Hindu Community in Colonial India

3.30-3.45 (GMT) / 10.30-10.45 am (EST)
Break

4.15-4.45 pm (GMT) / 11.15-11.45 am (EST)
Esha Meher (Yale University)
Courting the Divine: Image of the Deity and Legal Personhood in India

 

5.30-6.00 pm (GMT) / 12.30-1.00 pm (EST)
Malavika Kasturi (University of Toronto) 
Caste, Sampraday, and Histories of Hinduism in British India

 

6.30-7.00 pm (GMT) / 1.30-2.00 pm (EST)
General discussion

Day 3

2.00-2.30 pm (GMT) / 9.00-9.30 am (EST)
Måns Broo (Åbo Akademi University)
The Haribhaktivilāsa and Gauḍīya Vaiṣṇavism in the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Centuries

3.00-3.30 pm (GMT) / 10.00-10.30 am (EST)
Tyler Williams (University of Chicago)
A Pothī Hiding in a Book: Tracing the Sectarian Outlines of the Indological Library

3.45-4.15 pm (GMT) / 10.45-11.15 am (EST)
Ved Patel (Emory University)
Changing Through Service: The Swaminarayan Sampraday and Discourses of Reform in Nineteenth-Century Gujarat

4.45-5.30 pm (GMT) / 11.45-12.30 pm (EST)
Break

6.00-6.30 pm (GMT) / 1.00-1.30 pm (EST)
Ankur Barua (University of Cambridge)
The Political Theology of Lala Lajpat Rai: Reconfiguring the Vedic dharma in the Arya Samaj

2.30-3.00 pm (GMT) / 9.30-10.00 am (EST)
Gil Ben-Herut (University of South Florida)
Debating the Printed Word: Vacanas and the Modern Turn in Vīraśaivism during the Late Colonial Period

3.30-3.45 pm (GMT) / 10.30-10.45 am (EST)
Break

4.15-4.45 pm (GMT) / 11.15-11.45 am (EST)
Julian Strube (University of Vienna)
Contextualising ‘Orthodoxy’ and ‘Reform’: Shashadhar Tarkachuramani and the Sarvamangala Sabha

5.30-6.00 pm (GMT) / 12.30-1.00 pm (EST)
Shandip Saha (Athabasca University)
The Reinvention of Vaiṣṇavite Religious Identity in Nineteenth-Century Western India: The Vallabha Sampradāya’s Encounter with Colonialism in the Bombay Presidency

6.30-7.00 pm (GMT) / 1.30-2.00 pm (EST)
Closing Discussion

Day 1

1.45-2.00 pm (GMT) / 8.45-9.00 am (EST)
Welcome

2.00-2.30 pm (GMT) / 9.00-9.30 am (EST)
Brian Hatcher (Tufts University)
Religious Polities and Early Modern Hindu Sampradays

2.30-3.00 pm (GMT) / 9.30-10.00 am (EST)
J Barton Scott (University of Toronto)
What Do We Talk About When We Talk About ‘Modern Hinduism’?

3.00-3.30 pm (GMT) / 10.00-10.30 am (EST)
Angelika Malinar (University of Zurich)
Driving Force or Remnant of the Past? Interpreting ‘Sampradāya’ in Colonial Debates on Hinduism

3.30-4.00 pm (GMT) / 10.30-11.00 am (EST)
Break

4.00-4.30 pm (GMT) / 11.00-11.30 am (EST)
Indrani Chatterjee (The University of Texas at Austin)
Disappearing Dedications?: A Second Look at the Evidence from the Brahmaputra Valley

4.30-5.00 pm (GMT) / 11.30-12.00 pm (EST)
Ishita Banerjee-Dube (El Colegio de México)
Bhakti and Bhaktas: The Many Lives of Bhima Bhoi and Mahima Dharma

5.00-5.30 pm (GMT) / 12.00-12.30 pm (EST) 
Break 

5.30-6.00 pm (GMT) / 12.30-1.00pm (EST)
Arun Brahmbhatt (St. Lawrence University)
Validating Vedanta and Authorizing Commentary in the Swaminarayan Sampradaya
 
6.00-6.30 pm (GMT) / 1.00-1.30 pm (EST)
Jonathan Duquette (University of Cambridge)
On the Margins of Modernity: The Advaita of Rāmasubha Śāstri

6.30-7.00 (GMT) / 1.30-2.00 pm (EST)
General Discussion 

Day 2

2.00-2.30 pm (GMT) / 9.00-9.30 am (EST)
Carola Lorea (National University of Singapore) 
From Caṇḍāl to Transnational Network: Sectarian Resilience and Untouchable Pride in the Bay of Bengal

2.30-3.00 pm (GMT) / 9.30-10.00 am (EST)
Rick Weiss (Heidelberg University)
Apocalypse and a Marginalized Hindu Community in Colonial India

3.00-3.30 pm (GMT) / 10.00-10.30 am (EST)
Srilata Raman (University of Toronto) 
Inventing a Sampradāya: Lineage, Authority and Religious Transmission in Tamil, Dalit Śaivism in Colonial Modernity 

3.30-3.45 (GMT) / 10.30-10.45 am (EST)
Break

3.45-4.15 pm (GMT) / 10.45-11.15 am (EST)
Christopher T. Fleming (University of Oxford)
Śūdra Ascetcism in Anglo-Hindu Law: Scripture and Custom

4.15-4.45 pm (GMT) / 11.15-11.45 am (EST)
Esha Meher (Yale University)
Courting the Divine: Image of the Deity and Legal Personhood in India

4.45-5.30 pm (GMT) / 11.45-12.30 pm (EST)
Break

5.30-6.00 pm (GMT) / 12.30-1.00 pm (EST)
Malavika Kasturi (University of Toronto) 
Caste, Sampraday, and Histories of Hinduism in British India

6.00-6.30 pm (GMT) / 1.00-1.30 pm (EST)
Timothy Dobe (Grinnell College)
The Modern Hindu Islamicate: Gandhi Between Sampraday and Silsilah

6.30-7.00 pm (GMT) / 1.30-2.00 pm (EST)
General discussion

Day 3

2.00-2.30 pm (GMT) / 9.00-9.30 am (EST)
Måns Broo (Åbo Akademi University)
The Haribhaktivilāsa and Gauḍīya Vaiṣṇavism in the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Centuries

2.30-3.00 pm (GMT) / 9.30-10.00 am (EST)
Gil Ben-Herut (University of South Florida)
Debating the Printed Word: Vacanas and the Modern Turn in Vīraśaivism during the Late Colonial Period

3.00-3.30 pm (GMT) / 10.00-10.30 am (EST)
Tyler Williams (University of Chicago)
A Pothī Hiding in a Book: Tracing the Sectarian Outlines of the Indological Library

3.30-3.45 pm (GMT) / 10.30-10.45 am (EST)
Break

3.45-4.15 pm (GMT) / 10.45-11.15 am (EST)
Ved Patel (Emory University)
Changing Through Service: The Swaminarayan Sampraday and Discourses of Reform in Nineteenth-Century Gujarat

4.15-4.45 pm (GMT) / 11.15-11.45 am (EST)
Julian Strube (University of Vienna)
Contextualising ‘Orthodoxy’ and ‘Reform’: Shashadhar Tarkachuramani and the Sarvamangala Sabha

4.45-5.30 pm (GMT) / 11.45-12.30 pm (EST)
Break

5.30-6.00 pm (GMT) / 12.30-1.00 pm (EST)
Shandip Saha (Athabasca University)
The Reinvention of Vaiṣṇavite Religious Identity in Nineteenth-Century Western India: The Vallabha Sampradāya’s Encounter with Colonialism in the Bombay Presidency

6.00-6.30 pm (GMT) / 1.00-1.30 pm (EST)
Ankur Barua (University of Cambridge)
The Political Theology of Lala Lajpat Rai: Reconfiguring the Vedic dharma in the Arya Samaj

6.30-7.00 pm (GMT) / 1.30-2.00 pm (EST)
Closing Discussion